50th Anniversary of Princess Sirindhorn Bird First Sighting

50th Anniversary of Princess Sirindhorn Bird First Sighting
Ad:

50th Anniversary of Princess Sirindhorn Bird First Sighting – It has been 50 years since the rare white-eyed river Martin was first spotted in Thailand, a bird seen so infrequently it is nearly mythical.

Known locally as the Princess Sirindhorn bird, the white-eyed Martin is one of only two species of birds native to Thailand. This unique Thai treasure is distinguished by gleaming green-black feathers, a white midsection and a tail extending into two delicate black feathers.

Its beauty is hard to find, with only three confirmed sightings since it was first discovered at a wintering site in 1968. The Thai government has honored the mystical species with a stamp and commemorative coin, meant to pique curiosity and raise awareness of the bird.

No one has spotted the Princess Sirindhorn since 1980, stoking unconfirmed speculation that the species has gone extinct. That won’t stop residents and tourists alike this spring from perusing river banks, where the rare bird is known to roost, in the hopes that they’ll spot this rare Thai jewel!

You can find more about 50th Anniversary of Princess Sirindhorn Bird First Sighting on the official Google Doodle Page

Ad:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*

50th Anniversary of Princess Sirindhorn Bird First Sighting

50th Anniversary of Princess Sirindhorn Bird First Sighting
Anzeige:

50th Anniversary of Princess Sirindhorn Bird First Sighting – Es ist schon 50 Jahre seit der seltenen Schlangenaale Fluss, den Martin in Thailand zum ersten Mal gesichtet wurde, ein Vogel gesehen so selten ist es fast mythischen.

Lokal bekannt als Prinzessin Sirindhorn Vogel, ist Schlangenaale Martin eine von nur zwei Vogelarten heimisch in Thailand. Dieser einzigartige Thai Schatz zeichnet sich durch glänzenden grün-schwarzen Federn, ein weißes Bäuchlein und einen Schweif erstreckt sich in zwei zarten schwarzen Federn.

Seine Schönheit ist schwer zu finden mit nur drei bestätigten Sichtungen seit es zuerst an ein Überwinterungsgebiet im Jahr 1968 entdeckt wurde. Die thailändische Regierung hat die mystische Art mit einer Briefmarke und Gedenk-Münze, soll Neugier wecken und das Bewusstsein des Vogels geehrt.

Niemand hat entdeckt die Prinzessin Sirindhorn seit 1980, schürt unbestätigte Spekulationen, dass die Arten ausgestorben gegangen ist. Bewohner und Touristen gleichermaßen hält nicht in diesem Frühjahr von Flussufern, wo der seltene Vogel bekannt ist, zum Schlafplatz, in der Hoffnung, dass sie dieses seltene Thai Juwel vor Ort werde durchlesen!

Mehr über 50th Anniversary of Princess Sirindhorn Bird First Sighting finden Sie auf der offiziellen Google Doodle Seite

Anzeige:

Ersten Kommentar schreiben

Antworten

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.


*