Dr. Marie Thomas’ 125th Birthday

Dr. Marie Thomas’ 125th Birthday
Ad:

Dr. Marie Thomas’ 125th Birthday – Today’s Doodle celebrates the 125th birthday of Dr. Marie Thomas, one of the first female doctors in Indonesia. Born on this day in 1896 in the Indonesian village of Likupang, Marie Thomas made history as the nation’s first female specialist in gynecology and obstetrics.

Marie Thomas frequently moved around Indonesia throughout childhood before graduating from a European school based in Manado. It was then that Charlotte Jacobs, one of the Netherlands’ first female pharmacists, supported her with a scholarship fund for aspiring Indonesian female physicians. In 1912, Thomas was accepted into STOVIA (School for Education of Native Doctors), which prior to her enrollment, was an institution exclusive to men.  

Ten years later, Marie Thomas earned her doctorate, an achievement with such an international impact that even a Dutch newspaper announced her graduation. Not missing a beat, she promptly went to work at one of the largest hospitals in Batavia (modern-day Jakarta). Thomas later moved to Padang, where she continued her trailblazing career as one of the first doctors to introduce new methods of contraception, such as the IUD, to women across the archipelago. 

Renowned for her generosity, Thomas often treated those unable to afford her care at no cost. She further exhibited her passion for patient care by establishing the first Sumatran school for midwifery; only the second of its kind in Indonesia at the time.

Happy birthday, Dr. Marie Thomas. Thank you for your selfless dedication to the lives of others that has paved the way for women in Indonesia to pursue medicine and higher education. 

 

 

You can find more about Dr. Marie Thomas’ 125th Birthday on the official Google Doodle Page

Ad:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*

Dr. Marie Thomas’ 125th Birthday

Dr. Marie Thomas’ 125th Birthday
Anzeige:

Dr. Marie Thomas’ 125th Birthday – Das heutige Doodle feiert den 125. Geburtstag von Dr. Marie Thomas, einer der ersten Ärztinnen Indonesiens. Geboren an diesem Tag im Jahr 1896 im indonesischen Dorf Likupang, schrieb Marie Thomas Geschichte als erste Spezialistin für Gynäkologie und Geburtshilfe.

Marie Thomas zog während ihrer Kindheit häufig durch Indonesien, bevor sie eine europäische Schule in Manado abschloss. Damals unterstützte Charlotte Jacobs, eine der ersten Apothekerinnen der Niederlande, sie mit einem Stipendienfonds für angehende indonesische Ärztinnen. 1912 wurde Thomas in die STOVIA (School for Education of Native Doctors) aufgenommen, die vor ihrer Einschreibung eine Institution war, die ausschließlich Männern vorbehalten war.  

Zehn Jahre später promovierte Marie Thomas, eine Leistung mit einer solchen internationalen Wirkung, dass sogar eine niederländische Zeitung ihren Abschluss bekannt gab. Ohne einen Beat zu verpassen, ging sie prompt zur Arbeit in einem der größten Krankenhäuser in Batavia (heute Jakarta). Später zog Thomas nach Padang, wo sie ihre bahnbrechende Karriere als eine der ersten Ärzte fortsetzte, die Frauen auf dem gesamten Archipel neue Methoden der Empfängnisverhütung, wie die IUD, vorstellte. 

Thomas, der für seine Großzügigkeit bekannt ist, behandelte oft diejenigen, die sich ihre Pflege nicht kostenlos leisten konnten. Sie zeigte ihre Leidenschaft für die Patientenversorgung, indem sie die erste Sumatran-Schule für Hebammen gründete; nur die zweite ihrer Art in Indonesien zu dieser Zeit.

Alles Gute zum Geburtstag, Dr. Marie Thomas. Vielen Dank für Ihr selbstloses Engagement für das Leben anderer, das den Frauen in Indonesien den Weg für die Medizin und Hochschulbildung geebnet hat. 

Mehr über Dr. Marie Thomas’ 125th Birthday finden Sie auf der offiziellen Google Doodle Seite

Anzeige:

Ersten Kommentar schreiben

Antworten

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.


*