María Rebecca Latigo de Hernández’s 122nd Birthday

María Rebecca Latigo de Hernández’s 122nd Birthday
Ad:

María Rebecca Latigo de Hernández’s 122nd Birthday – Today’s Doodle celebrates what would have been the 122nd birthday of María Rebecca Latigo de Hernández, a civil rights leader integral to advancing Mexican American and Mexican immigrant rights.

Born in Garza García, near Monterrey, Mexico in 1896, Hernández later immigrated to San Antonio, Texas, where she became one of the leading voices speaking against economic discrimination and educational segregation that was faced primarily by women and children of Mexican descent. Among her many contributions, she co-founded the Orden Caballeros de America (Order of the Knights of America) – a benefit society dedicated to educating Mexican Americans about their rights. She also helped organize the Asociación Protectora de Madres (Association for the Protection of Mothers) which provided financial aid to expectant mothers and La Liga de Defensa Pro-Escolar (The School Defense League) which fought to replace segregated educational facilities.

In addition to being a powerful organizer, Hernández was also a talented orator: she became San Antonio’s first Mexican American female radio announcer, and spent much of the rest of her life speaking up against injustice and inequality across both the Mexican and African American communities.

Today’s Doodle illustrates Hernández doing what she did best – using her voice to elevate and benefit her community.

Happy 122nd birthday, María Rebecca Latigo de Hernández!

You can find more about María Rebecca Latigo de Hernández’s 122nd Birthday on the official Google Doodle Page

Ad:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*

María Rebecca Latigo de Hernández’s 122nd Birthday

María Rebecca Latigo de Hernández’s 122nd Birthday
Anzeige:

María Rebecca Latigo de Hernández’s 122nd Birthday – Die heutige Doodle feiert was des 122. Geburtstags von María Rebecca Latigo de Hernández, ein Bürgerrechtler integraler Bestandteil der Förderung der mexikanischen amerikanischen und mexikanischen Einwanderer Rechte gewesen wäre.

Geboren in Garza García, in der Nähe von Monterrey, Mexiko im Jahre 1896, wanderte Hernández später nach San Antonio, Texas, wo sie wurde eine der führenden Stimmen gegen wirtschaftliche Diskriminierung und Bildungseinrichtungen, die in erster Linie von Frauen und Kindern konfrontiert wurde Mexikanischer Abstammung. Unter ihren vielen Beiträgen war sie Mitbegründerin der Orden Caballeros de América (Reihenfolge der Knights of America) – eine Vorteil Gesellschaft gewidmet Erziehung Mexican Americans über ihre Rechte. Sie half auch der Asociación Protectora de Madres (Vereinigung für den Schutz der Mütter) zu organisieren, die finanziellen für werdende Mütter Hilfen und La Liga de Defensa pro-Escolar (The School Defense League) die kämpfte ersetzen getrennt pädagogische Einrichtungen.

Neben einem leistungsfähigen Organizer, Hernández war auch ein begabter Redner: sie wurde San Antonios ersten mexikanischen amerikanische weibliche Radiomoderator und verbrachte den Rest ihres Lebens sprechen sich gegen Ungerechtigkeit und Ungleichheit über beide der Mexikaner und Afrikanische amerikanische Gemeinschaften.

Heutige Doodle zeigt Hernández tun, was sie am besten Tat – verwenden ihre Stimme zu erheben und ihre Gemeinschaft zu profitieren.

122. Geburtstag, María Rebecca Latigo de Hernández glücklich!

Mehr über María Rebecca Latigo de Hernández’s 122nd Birthday finden Sie auf der offiziellen Google Doodle Seite

Anzeige:

Ersten Kommentar schreiben

Antworten

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.


*