Phraya Si Sunthon Wohan’s 198th Birthday

Phraya Si Sunthon Wohan's 198th Birthday
Ad:

Phraya Si Sunthon Wohan’s 198th Birthday – Today’s Doodle celebrates Thai author, poet, and teacher Phraya Si Sunthon Wohan, who has been credited as the top authority on the Thai language during the rule of King Rama V in the late 19th century. Sunthon Wohan authored some of the country’s first Thai language textbooks, which were used to educate the country’s youth and members of the royal family.

Phraya Si Sunthon Wohan— born Noi Achan Yangkun on this day in 1822 in the Thai province of Chachoengsao— moved to Bangkok at the age of 13 to begin his lifelong linguistic journey. Over the next eight years, he studied at one of the capital city’s most ancient temples, the golden Wat Saket, where he mastered a handful of languages, including Thai, Khmer (the official language of neighboring Cambodia), and Pāli (a classical language that originated in India).

Phraya Si Sunthon Wohan’s talents ultimately attracted the attention of King Rama V, and he was appointed to the esteemed role of permanent secretary. He authored the country’s first textbook, which he used to teach the royal family at Suan Kulaab, the rose garden school in Bangkok’s Grand Palace. A poet at heart, Sunthon Wohan is also credited with writing Thailand’s very first national anthem.

 

 

Early concepts and sketches of the Doodle

 

You can find more about Phraya Si Sunthon Wohan’s 198th Birthday on the official Google Doodle Page

Ad:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*

Phraya Si Sunthon Wohan’s 198th Birthday

Phraya Si Sunthon Wohan's 198th Birthday
Anzeige:

Phraya Si Sunthon Wohan’s 198th Birthday – Das heutige Doodle feiert die thailändische Autorin, Dichterin und Lehrerin Phraya Si Sunthon Wohan, die während der Herrschaft von König Rama V. im späten 19. Jahrhundert als oberste Autorität in der thailändischen Sprache gilt. Sunthon Wohan verfasste einige der ersten thailändischen Lehrbücher des Landes, die verwendet wurden, um die Jugend des Landes und Mitglieder der königlichen Familie zu erziehen.

Phraya Si Sunthon Wohan – als Noi Achan Yangkun an diesem Tag 1822 in der thailändischen Provinz Chachoengsao geboren – zog im Alter von 13 Jahren nach Bangkok, um seine lebenslange Sprachreise zu beginnen. In den folgenden acht Jahren studierte er in einem der ältesten Tempel der Hauptstadt, dem goldenen Wat Saket, wo er eine Handvoll Sprachen beherrschte, darunter Thailändisch, Khmer (die Offizielle Sprache des benachbarten Kambodscha) und Péli (eine klassische Sprache, die ihren Ursprung in Indien hatte).

Phraya Si Sunthon Wohans Talente erregten schließlich die Aufmerksamkeit von König Rama V., und er wurde in die geschätzte Rolle des ständigen Sekretärs berufen. Er verfasste das erste Lehrbuch des Landes, mit dem er die königliche Familie in Suan Kulaab, der Rosengartenschule im Großen Palast Bangkoks, unterrichtete. Sunthon Wohan, ein Dichter im Herzen, wird auch dafür zugeschrieben, Thailands erste Nationalhymne zu schreiben.

Frühe Konzepte und Skizzen des Doodles

Mehr über Phraya Si Sunthon Wohan’s 198th Birthday finden Sie auf der offiziellen Google Doodle Seite

Anzeige:

Ersten Kommentar schreiben

Antworten

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.


*