Sanmao’s 76th Birthday

Sanmao's 76th Birthday
Ad:

Sanmao’s 76th Birthday – “Don’t ask from where I have come, My home is far, far away.”
—Sanmao “The Olive Tree”

Today’s Doodle celebrates the life and work of Chinese-born Taiwanese writer and translator Chen Mao Ping, known to her readers as Sanmao. Born in Chongqing, China on this day in 1943, Sanmao moved to Taiwan with her family as a young girl. She went on to become a prolific author and world traveler whose moving prose, independent spirit, and thirst for knowledge touched millions.

A voracious reader, Sanmao preferred classic novels like Don Quixote to doing her classwork as a child. After scoring zero on a math quiz, she was humiliated by a teacher who drew zeroes around her eyes. From then on she was home schooled by her family and by a tutor named Echo, who encouraged her love of art and literature.

Sanmao published her first work at 19 before resuming her education studying philosophy in Taiwan. She soon moved to Spain where she met her future husband, José María Quero. They lived together in the Sahara desert, during which time she wrote her best-known book, The Stories of the Sahara (1976). The moving memoir and travelogue has been translated into numerous different languages.

Sanmao went on to publish over 20 books, including a Chinese translation of the Spanish comic Mafalda. After returning to her native China for the first time since her childhood, Sanmao wrote the script for the acclaimed 1990 film Red Dust.

Her vivid prose, independent spirit, and willingness to travel widely in a search for knowledge inspired many of her readers to retrace her steps. So many Sanmao fans have visited her home in the Canary Islands that an official pilgrimage route was set up to guide them along their journey.

You can find more about Sanmao’s 76th Birthday on the official Google Doodle Page

Ad:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*

Sanmao’s 76th Birthday

Sanmao's 76th Birthday
Anzeige:

Sanmao’s 76th Birthday – „Frag nicht aus wo ich bin gekommen, meine Heimat ist weit, weit weg.“
— Sanmao „The Olive Tree“

Die heutige Doodle feiert das Leben und Werk des Chinesisch-taiwanischer Schriftsteller und Übersetzer Chen Mao Ping, um ihren Lesern als Sanmao bekannt. An diesem Tag im Jahr 1943 in Chongqing, China geboren, zog Sanmao nach Taiwan mit ihrer Familie als junges Mädchen. Sie fuhr fort, werden Sie produktiver Autor und Weltreisender deren bewegliche Prosa, unabhängigen Geist und Wissensdurst berührte Millionen.

Ein unersättlicher Leser, lieber Sanmao klassischer Romane wie Don Quichotte ihre Klassenarbeiten als Kind zu tun. Nach der Wertung Null auf ein Mathe-Quiz, wurde sie von einem Lehrer gedemütigt, Nullen um ihre Augen zog. Von da an wurde sie nach Hause geschult von ihrer Familie und von einem Tutor namens Echo ermutigt, die ihre Liebe zur Kunst und Literatur.

Sanmao veröffentlicht ihr Erstlingswerk um 19 Uhr vor der Wiederaufnahme ihrer Ausbildung, Studium der Philosophie in Taiwan. Bald zog sie nach Spanien, wo sie ihren zukünftigen Ehemann, José María Quero traf. Sie lebten zusammen in der Sahara, während dieser, die Zeit sie ihr bekanntestes Buch, die Geschichten aus der Sahara (1976 schrieb). Bewegenden Memoiren und Reisebericht wurden in zahlreiche Sprachen übersetzt.

Sanmao fuhr fort, um mehr als 20 Bücher, darunter eine chinesische Übersetzung des spanischen Comic Mafalda zu veröffentlichen. Nach der Rückkehr in ihre Heimat China zum ersten Mal seit ihrer Kindheit, schrieb Sanmao das Drehbuch für den gefeierten Film 1990 Red Dust.

Ihre lebendige Prosa, unabhängigen Geist und Reisebereitschaft weit auf der Suche nach wissen, inspirierte viele ihrer Leser, ihre Schritte zurückzuverfolgen. So viele Sanmao Fans haben ihr Zuhause auf den Kanarischen Inseln besucht, die eine offizielle Pilgerweg eingerichtet wurde, um sie auf ihrem Weg zu führen.

Mehr über Sanmao’s 76th Birthday finden Sie auf der offiziellen Google Doodle Seite

Anzeige:

Ersten Kommentar schreiben

Antworten

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.


*