St. Andrew’s Day 2019

St. Andrew's Day 2019
Ad:

St. Andrew’s Day 2019 – St. Andrew’s Day is a celebration of Scotland’s people, culture, and charity highlighted in today’s Doodle, illustrated by Scotland-based guest artist Scott Balmer. The holiday marks the officially unofficial start of winter in Scotland.

As the religious feast day of St. Andrew, November 30th has been observed in Scotland for centuries. St. Andrew’s Day as a national holiday did not take shape until an unexpected connection to the USA in the 18th century. 

In 1729, the Scottish residents of Charleston, South Carolina, formed the first St. Andrew’s Society as a charitable organization. Choosing the feast day of St. Andrew to celebrate their homeland, the news of their philanthropic efforts spread quickly. The members of the organization embodied the message of the holiday by giving back to those in need, and continue to do so around the world to this day.

Throughout the country, you’ll find the Saltire flag proudly flying, parades through city thoroughfares, fireworks, and lots of Cèilidh dances. Evolving from couples dances in rural villages, Cèilidh dances are meant to welcome all those who wish to join.

If you’re a Scot abroad, in the Highlands, or just Scottish at heart, get ready to dance the night away, and make sure to have some haggis before the night is over.

Happy St. Andrew’s Day!​

 

 

Guest Artist Q&A with Scott Balmer

Today’s Doodle was produced by Scotland-based guest artist Scott Balmer. Below, he shares his thoughts behind the making of this Doodle:
 

Q: Why was this topic meaningful to you personally? 

A: Well, I am Scottish after all. I grew up in Dundee which runs along the River Tay. It is a place that is located on the east coast of Scotland and was once known for its Jute, Jam, and Journalism in its heyday. Modern Dundee has changed and adapted to the times. Its new centerpiece, the V&A Dundee design museum, is nestled right beside a part of its history: the RRS Discovery, a ship built in Dundee for research of Antarctica.

Dundee has seen a lot in its history from assembling ZX Spectrums to the birthplace of Lemmings.

So to be asked to make this Doodle has been an honour to not only represent me and my work but also the Scottish people, young and old, who have made this country what it is.
 

Q: What were your first thoughts when you were approached about the project?

A: Thinking how to avoid making it like the Souvenirs you get, like the tartan hat with a ginger wig and the general use of that one type of red tartan where there are many different clans using unique patterns and colours.
 

Q: Did you draw inspiration from anything in particular for this Doodle? 

A: I wanted to capture the energy and the sheer joy of the Scottish people through their heritage and through elements that are easily identifiable to everyone by showing the inclusive nature of the Scots. Plus, they know to celebrate too.
 

Q: What message do you hope people take away from your Doodle?

A: I hope it shows that the diversity of people is what makes modern Scotland great.

You can find more about St. Andrew’s Day 2019 on the official Google Doodle Page

Ad:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*

St. Andrew’s Day 2019

St. Andrew's Day 2019
Anzeige:

St. Andrew’s Day 2019 – Der St. Andrew es Day ist eine Feier der schottischen Menschen, Kultur und Nächstenliebe, die im heutigen Doodle hervorgehoben werden, das vom schottischen Gastkünstler Scott Balmer illustriert wurde. Der Feiertag markiert den offiziell inoffiziellen Winterbeginn in Schottland.

Als religiöser Festtag des hl. Andreas wird der 30. November in Schottland seit Jahrhunderten gefeiert. Der Andreastag als Nationalfeiertag nahm erst im 18. Jahrhundert Gestalt an. 

1729 gründeten die Schottischen in Charleston, South Carolina, die erste St. Andrew es Society als wohltätigkeitskaritative Organisation. Die Wahl des Festtages des heiligen Andreas, um ihre Heimat zu feiern, verbreitete sich schnell die Nachricht von ihren philanthropischen Bemühungen. Die Mitglieder der Organisation verkörperten die Botschaft des Feiertags, indem sie den Bedürftigen etwas zurückgeben und dies bis heute auf der ganzen Welt tun.

Im ganzen Land weht stolz die Saltire-Flagge, Paraden durch die Durchgangsstraßen der Stadt, Einfeuerwerk und jede Menge Tänze aus der Stadt. Aus Paartänzen in ländlichen Dörfern entwickelnd, sollen die Tänze in Céilidh alle willkommen heißen, die mitmachen möchten.

Wenn Sie ein Schotte im Ausland, in den Highlands oder einfach nur Schotte im Herzen sind, machen Sie sich bereit, die Nacht zu tanzen, und stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie etwas Haggis haben, bevor die Nacht vorbei ist.

Glücklicher Andreastag!

Gastkünstler Q&A mit Scott Balmer

Das heutige Doodle wurde vom schottischen Gastkünstler Scott Balmer produziert. Unten teilt er seine Gedanken hinter der Herstellung dieses Doodles:
 
F: Warum war dieses Thema für Sie persönlich sinnvoll? 

A: Nun, ich bin doch Schotte. Ich bin in Dundee aufgewachsen, das entlang des Flusses Tay verläuft. Es ist ein Ort, der an der Ostküste Schottlands liegt und einst für seine Jute, Jam und Journalismus in seiner Blütezeit bekannt war. Das moderne Dundee hat sich verändert und sich an die Zeit angepasst. Sein neues Herzstück, das Designmuseum V&A Dundee, liegt direkt neben einem Teil seiner Geschichte: der RRS Discovery, einem Schiff, das in Dundee für die Erforschung der Antarktis gebaut wurde.

Dundee hat in seiner Geschichte viel erlebt, von der Montage von ZX Spectrums bis zum Geburtsort von Lemmings.

Es war eine Ehre, dieses Doodle zu machen, um nicht nur mich und meine Arbeit zu vertreten, sondern auch die Schotten, jung und alt, die dieses Land zu dem gemacht haben, was es ist.
 
F: Was waren Ihre ersten Gedanken, als Sie über das Projekt angesprochen wurden?

A: Denken Sie darüber nach, wie man es vermeiden kann, es wie die Souvenirs zu machen, die Sie bekommen, wie der Tartanhut mit einer Ingwerperücke und die allgemeine Verwendung dieser einen Art von rotem Tartan, wo es viele verschiedene Clans mit einzigartigen Mustern und Farben gibt.
 
F: Haben Sie sich von etwas Besonderem für dieses Doodle inspirieren lassen? 

A: Ich wollte die Energie und die schiere Freude des schottischen Volkes durch ihr Erbe und durch Elemente erfassen, die für jeden leicht erkennbar sind, indem ich die inklusive Natur der Schotten zeige. Außerdem wissen sie auch zu feiern.
 
F: Welche Botschaft erhoffen Sie sich von Ihrem Doodle?

A: Ich hoffe, es zeigt, dass die Vielfalt der Menschen das ist, was das moderne Schottland großartig macht.

Mehr über St. Andrew’s Day 2019 finden Sie auf der offiziellen Google Doodle Seite

Anzeige:

Ersten Kommentar schreiben

Antworten

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.


*