Celebrating Summer 2020 and The Great Conjunction! (Southern Hemisphere)

Celebrating Summer 2020 and The Great Conjunction! (Southern Hemisphere)
Ad:

Celebrating Summer 2020 and The Great Conjunction! (Southern Hemisphere) – As Earth’s Southern Hemisphere welcomes summer and winds down from the longest day of the year, it seems Jupiter and Saturn have decided to put on quite an unusual show for the world to see! 

The two largest planets in our solar system will nearly overlap to form a “double planet,” an event that hasn’t been easily visible since the Middle Ages—almost 800 years ago. Today’s animated Doodle celebrates the Southern Hemisphere’s first day of summer as well as this rare double planet sighting–or “Great Conjunction”–which can be viewed from anywhere around the globe!   

So what exactly is creating this celestial phenomenon? Based on their orbits, from our vantage point on Earth, Jupiter and Saturn will cross within .1 degrees of each other (a fraction of the width of the full moon), a once-in-a-lifetime rendezvous recreated in the Doodle artwork. But looks can be deceiving, as the two gas giants will actually remain a vast distance of approximately 450 million miles apart! 

Make sure you look out low above the horizon tonight and take in this momentous meet-and-greet between Jupiter and Saturn–it’s sure to be out of this world!

 

Huge thanks to NASA for their collaboration on this Doodle

 

Interested in watching the “Great Conjunction” tonight?

• Find a spot with an unobstructed view of the sky, such as a field or park. 

• An hour after sunset, Jupiter will look like a bright star and be easily visible in the southwestern sky. Saturn will be slightly fainter and will appear slightly above and to the left of Jupiter until December 21, when Jupiter will overtake it and they will reverse positions in the sky.

• Feel free to use binoculars, but the planets can still be seen with the unaided eye.

Visit NASA.gov and the sites below for more information on how you can experience this once-in-a-lifetime phenomenon.

What’s Up, Skywatching Tips from NASA 

Photo Tips

NASA Science Live Conjunction Episode

Solar System Overview

 

 

You can find more about Celebrating Summer 2020 and The Great Conjunction! (Southern Hemisphere) on the official Google Doodle Page

Ad:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*

Celebrating Summer 2020 and The Great Conjunction! (Southern Hemisphere)

Celebrating Summer 2020 and The Great Conjunction! (Southern Hemisphere)
Anzeige:

Celebrating Summer 2020 and The Great Conjunction! (Southern Hemisphere) – Während die südliche Hemisphäre der Erde den Sommer begrüßt und vom längsten Tag des Jahres abgeht, scheint es, dass Jupiter und Saturn beschlossen haben, eine ziemlich ungewöhnliche Show für die Welt zu zeigen! 

Die beiden größten Planeten in unserem Sonnensystem werden sich fast zu einem „Doppelplaneten“ überschneiden, ein Ereignis, das seit dem Mittelalter – vor fast 800 Jahren – nicht mehr so gut sichtbar war. Das heutige animierte Doodle feiert den ersten Sommertag der südlichen Hemisphäre sowie diese seltene Doppelplanetensichtung – oder „Great Conjunction“, die von überall auf der Welt aus betrachtet werden kann!   

Was genau schafft dieses himmelsäsielle Phänomen? Basierend auf ihren Umlaufbahnen werden Jupiter und Saturn von unserem Aussichtspunkt auf der Erde aus innerhalb von 0,1 Grad voneinander kreuzen (ein Bruchteil der Breite des Vollmondes), ein einmaliges Rendezvous, das im Doodle-Kunstwerk nachgebildet wurde. Aber Blicke können trügerisch sein, da die beiden Gasriesen tatsächlich eine weite Entfernung von etwa 450 Millionen Meilen voneinander entfernt bleiben werden! 

Achten Sie darauf, dass Sie heute Abend tief über dem Horizont schauen und dieses bedeutsame Treffen zwischen Jupiter und Saturn genießen – es ist sicher, dass Sie aus dieser Welt herauskommen!

Großer Dank an die NASA für die Zusammenarbeit an diesem Doodle

Interessieren Sie sich für die „Great Conjunction“ heute Abend?

• Finden Sie einen Ort mit freiem Blick auf den Himmel, wie z. B. ein Feld oder einen Park. 

• Eine Stunde nach Sonnenuntergang wird Jupiter wie ein heller Stern aussehen und am südwestlichen Himmel gut sichtbar sein. Saturn wird etwas schwächer sein und leicht über und links von Jupiter erscheinen, bis zum 21. Dezember, wenn Jupiter ihn überholen und sie Positionen am Himmel umkehren werden.

• Fühlen Sie sich frei, Ferngläser zu benutzen, aber die Planeten können immer noch mit dem ununterstützten Auge gesehen werden.

Besuchen Sie NASA.gov und die folgenden Websites, um weitere Informationen darüber zu erhalten, wie Sie dieses einmalige Phänomen erleben können.

What es Up, Skywatching Tipps von der NASA 

Foto-Tipps

NASA Science Live Conjunction Episode

Solar system Übersicht

Mehr über Celebrating Summer 2020 and The Great Conjunction! (Southern Hemisphere) finden Sie auf der offiziellen Google Doodle Seite

Anzeige:

Ersten Kommentar schreiben

Antworten

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.


*