Chuseok 2020

Chuseok 2020
Ad:

Chuseok 2020 – Today’s Doodle, illustrated by Korean guest artist Haleigh Mun, commemorates Chuseok (추석), also known in English as Korean Thanksgiving. Among the country’s most important holidays, Chuseok falls each year on the date of the harvest moon and is celebrated over a three-day period that includes the preceding and following days.  

In keeping with Chuseok’s origins as a harvest celebration, culinary traditions are integral to the holiday. Among the most significant centerpiece dishes is songpyeon, small round rice cakes traditionally packed full of nutritious ingredients like sesame seeds, beans, and nuts and steamed along with an aromatic layer of pine needles. A lot can ride on the preparation of the dish—it is said that whoever crafts beautiful songpyeon will be met with good fortune.  

Happy Chuseok! 

 

 

Guest Artist Q&A with Haleigh Mun

Today’s Doodle was illustrated by Korean guest artist Haleigh Mun. Below, she shares her thoughts behind the making of this Doodle:

 

Q: Why was this topic meaningful to you personally? 

A: Thinking of Chuseok brings a big smile to my face. I remember visiting my uncle’s house where we’d all be surrounded by the delicious food my grandmother made for us. We chattered, laughed, and enjoyed the precious family time together. Although I haven’t been able to celebrate Chuseok with my family in Korea since moving to America 12 years ago, I remember those joyful times with my truly loving family. 

 

Q: What were your first thoughts when you were approached about the project?

A: Doodling for Google has been one of my dreams as an illustrator. I cannot express how excited I was to have this opportunity! I’m very honored to create a Doodle for one of the biggest holidays in Korea. 

 

Q: Did you draw inspiration from anything in particular for this Doodle?

A: My childhood. I loved wearing hanbok on Chuseok. It made a special day extra special! 

 

Q: What do you hope people take away from your Doodle?

A: This year Chuseok may be very different from what it normally is for many of us. I hope people get some bright and warm energy by looking at this Doodle and have a happy Chuseok with their loved ones.

You can find more about Chuseok 2020 on the official Google Doodle Page

Ad:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*

Chuseok 2020

Chuseok 2020
Anzeige:

Chuseok 2020 – Das heutige Doodle, illustriert von der koreanischen Gastkünstlerin Haleigh Mun, erinnert an Chuseok (추석), auch im Englischen als Koreanisches Thanksgiving bekannt. Zu den wichtigsten Feiertagen des Landes gehört, dass Chuseok jedes Jahr auf das Datum des Erntemondes fällt und über einen Zeitraum von drei Tagen gefeiert wird, der die vorhergehenden und folgenden Tage umfasst.  

Im Einklang mit Chuseoks Ursprüngen als Erntefest sind kulinarische Traditionen integraler Bestandteil des Feiertags. Zu den wichtigsten Herzstücken gehören Songpyeon, kleine runde Reiskuchen, die traditionell vollgepackt mit nahrhaften Zutaten wie Sesamsamen, Bohnen und Nüssen verpackt und zusammen mit einer aromatischen Schicht Piniennadeln gedämpft werden. Bei der Zubereitung des Gerichtes kann viel reiten – es wird gesagt, dass jeder, der schöne Lieder bastelt, mit Glück empfangen wird.  

Glücklich Chuseok! 

Gastkünstler Q&A mit Haleigh Mun

Das heutige Doodle wurde von der koreanischen Gastkünstlerin Haleigh Mun illustriert.

F: Warum war dieses Thema für Sie persönlich sinnvoll? 

A: Das Denken an Chuseok bringt mir ein großes Lächeln ins Gesicht. Ich erinnere mich, wie ich das Haus meines Onkels besuchte, wo wir alle von dem köstlichen Essen umgeben waren, das meine Großmutter für uns gemacht hatte. Wir plauderten, lachten und genossen die kostbare Gemeinsame Zeit der Familie. Obwohl ich Chuseok seit meinem Umzug nach Amerika vor 12 Jahren nicht mehr mit meiner Familie in Korea feiern konnte, erinnere ich mich an diese freudigen Zeiten mit meiner wirklich liebevollen Familie. 

F: Was waren Ihre ersten Gedanken, als Sie über das Projekt angesprochen wurden?

A: Doodling für Google war einer meiner Träume als Illustrator. Ich kann nicht ausdrücken, wie aufgeregt ich war, diese Gelegenheit zu haben! Ich fühle mich sehr geehrt, ein Doodle für einen der größten Feiertage in Korea zu erstellen. 

F: Haben Sie sich von etwas Besonderem für dieses Doodle inspirieren lassen?

A: Meine Kindheit. Ich liebte das Tragen von Hanbok auf Chuseok. Es war ein besonderer Tag zu etwas ganz Besonderem! 

F: Was hoffen Sie, dass die Leute von Ihrem Doodle wegnehmen?

A: In diesem Jahr kann Chuseok sehr anders sein, als es normalerweise für viele von uns ist. Ich hoffe, die Leute bekommen etwas helle und warme Energie, indem sie sich dieses Doodle anschauen und einen glücklichen Chuseok mit ihren Lieben haben.

Mehr über Chuseok 2020 finden Sie auf der offiziellen Google Doodle Seite

Anzeige:

Ersten Kommentar schreiben

Antworten

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.


*