St. Andrew’s Day 2021

St. Andrew's Day 2021
Ad:

St. Andrew’s Day 2021 – Today’s Doodle, illustrated by Glasgow, Scotland-based guest artist Fran Caballero, celebrates St. Andrew’s Day, the official national day of Scotland. The artwork pays homage to this annual holiday with symbols that illustrate key aspects of Scottish culture and heritage. 

Although the existence of a brontosaurus-esque monster in its waters is the stuff of fantasy and folklore, the Loch (Gaelic for “lake”) Ness in the Scottish Highlands is very real. The upper left of the Doodle artwork reflects these dramatic depths and the ancient legend surrounding them. Reaching over 800 feet in some spots, Loch Ness is among the deepest bodies of water in the United Kingdom! 

The lower left depicts a red squirrel, part of Scotland’s most beloved wildlife. The national flower of Scotland for over 500 years, the thistle, is illustrated in the artwork’s center as an enduring symbol of St. Andrew and Scottish pride. A medieval castle is depicted on the far right panel, showcasing definitive architecture from Celtic history.

Happy St. Andrew’s Day!

 

 

Searching for the mystery monster? Head to Maps to explore by dropping Nessie in the Loch to take a closer look! 

 

 

Guest Artist Q&A with Fran Caballero

Today’s Doodle was illustrated by Glasgow, Scotland-based guest artist Fran Caballero. Below, he shares his thoughts behind the making of this Doodle:

 

Q. What was your creative process for this Doodle artwork? 

A: Initial pencil sketches and then redrawn and coloured digitally. 

 

Q. Did you draw inspiration from anything in particular for this Doodle?  Are there specific elements of the artwork that have symbolic meaning?

A. I wanted my Doodle to embody the feeling of living in Scotland, of the stark beauty with elements that primarily focus on landscape. I hoped to avoid a lot of the tour shop representations of Scotland that exist, and channel more of my experience of living there.

 

 

Early drafts of the Doodle

 

 

 

 

 

You can find more about St. Andrew’s Day 2021 on the official Google Doodle Page

Ad:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*

St. Andrew’s Day 2021

St. Andrew's Day 2021
Anzeige:

St. Andrew’s Day 2021 – Das heutige Doodle, illustriert von der in Glasgow, Schottland, lebenden Gastkünstlerin Fran Caballero, feiert den St. Andrew’s Day, den offiziellen Nationalfeiertag Schottlands. Das Kunstwerk ist eine Hommage an diesen jährlichen Feiertag mit Symbolen, die wichtige Aspekte der schottischen Kultur und des schottischen Erbes veranschaulichen. 

Obwohl die Existenz eines brontosaurusartigen Monsters in seinen Gewässern der Stoff für Fantasie und Folklore ist, ist der Loch (gälisch für „See“) Ness in den schottischen Highlands sehr real. Die obere linke Seite des Doodle-Kunstwerks spiegelt diese dramatischen Tiefen und die alte Legende wider, die sie umgibt. Loch Ness erreicht an einigen Stellen über 800 Fuß und gehört zu den tiefsten Gewässern im Vereinigten Königreich! 

Unten links ist ein rotes Eichhörnchen zu sehen, das zu Schottlands beliebtester Tierwelt gehört. Die Nationalblume Schottlands seit über 500 Jahren, die Distel, wird im Zentrum des Kunstwerks als dauerhaftes Symbol für St. Andrew und schottischen Stolz dargestellt. Auf der rechten Seite ist eine mittelalterliche Burg abgebildet, die die endgültige Architektur aus der keltischen Geschichte zeigt.

Einen schönen St. Andrew’s Day!

Auf der Suche nach dem mysteriösen Monster? Gehen Sie zu Maps, um zu erkunden, indem Sie Nessie im Loch fallen lassen, um einen genaueren Blick darauf zu werfen! 

Gastkünstler Q&A mit Fran Caballero

Das heutige Doodle wurde von der in Glasgow, Schottland, lebenden Gastkünstlerin Fran Caballero illustriert. Im Folgenden teilt er seine Gedanken hinter der Herstellung dieses Doodle:

Q. Was war dein kreativer Prozess für dieses Doodle-Kunstwerk? 

A: Zunächst Bleistiftskizzen und dann digital neu gezeichnet und koloriert. 

Q. Haben Sie sich für dieses Doodle von etwas Besonderem inspirieren lassen?  Gibt es bestimmte Elemente des Kunstwerks, die eine symbolische Bedeutung haben?

Ein. Ich wollte, dass mein Doodle das Gefühl verkörpert, in Schottland zu leben, die krasse Schönheit mit Elementen, die sich hauptsächlich auf die Landschaft konzentrieren. Ich hoffte, viele der Tour-Shop-Darstellungen von Schottland, die es gibt, zu vermeiden und mehr von meiner Erfahrung des Lebens dort zu kanalisieren.

Frühe Entwürfe des Doodle

Mehr über St. Andrew’s Day 2021 finden Sie auf der offiziellen Google Doodle Seite

Anzeige:

Ersten Kommentar schreiben

Antworten

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.


*